About the Public Education Forum

The Public Education Forum is a non-profit, non-partisan education policy research group created by a broad cross-section of business, education and political leaders in Mississippi. Founded in 1989, the Forum is committed to being the leading independent force for public education in the state. The mission of the Public Education Forum is "Committed to Excellence in Mississippi's Public Schools." The Mississippi Scholars Program is managed by the Public Education Forum and began in 2003.

Public Education Forum of Mississippi Board Members

Martha Cooke, Chair
School Book Supply

C.D. Smith, Treasurer
Regional Director

Melanie Morgan, First Past Chair
Senior Vice President/Director Corporate Communication & Board Relations
Trustmark National Bank

David Putman, Member
Blakeman Brister Putman Financial Group

Rafael Brown, Member
Market Human Resource Manager

Rebecca Montgomery, Member
Manager, Community Affairs
Mississippi Power

Gloria Harvey, Past Chair
AT&T –Retired

James Threadgill, Member
Vice Chairman

Jim McIngvale, Member
Director, Government & Community Affairs
Ingalls Shipbuilding

David Watkins, Member
Watkins Development LLC

Michael Callahan, Member
Electric Power Association
Executive Vice President/CEO