DSC 1368

Appearances by Mississippi songwriter and entertainer Mac McAnally and HGTV Home Town stars Ben & Erin Napier highlighted MEC's 68th Annual Meeting, held on April 27, 2017, at the Jackson Convention Complex.

DSC 1457MEC Interim President Scott Waller (right) interviews Mac McAnally


Over 2,000 statewide elected officials and business and community leaders attended MEC's largest event, which featured a morning session with Ben & Erin Napier and another on The Economics of Transportation, a panel discussion which featured Paula Dowell, Ph.D., Principal and Director of Economics at Cambridge Systematics, Inc.; Mike McCormick, President of Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation; and Rodney Grogan, President of MMC Materials, Inc. The Economics of Transportation panel was moderated by Interim MEC President & CEO Scott Waller, IOM.

robin william2016-2017 MEC Chair Robin Robinson (left) receives special recognition of exemplary service from 2017-2018 MEC Chair William Yates III during MEC's Annual Meeting.

During the luncheon, Speaker of the House Philip Gunn gave a special welcome after the Star-Spangled Banner by Miss Mississippi Laura Lee Lewis. 2016-2017 MEC Chair Robin Robinson of Sanderson Farms, Inc. gave a farewell address and brought her time as chair to a close, while 2017-2018 MEC Chair William Yates III of W.G. Yates & Sons Construction Company was installed to his new position. Outgoing MEC President & CEO Blake Wilson was honored by MEC staff & volunteer leadership. To close the MEC Annual Meeting, Interim MEC President & CEO Scott Waller interviewed entertainer Mac McAnally, who also played a short selection of songs for the gathered crowd.

04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0520Ben & Erin Napier discuss their passion for restoring their hometown of Laurel in one of two morning sessions at the MEC Annual Meeting.Joining business and community leaders at the MEC Annual Meeting luncheon were over 1,000 STAR Students, STAR Teachers, and their families, who had all just come from the Education Celebration honoring the state's top performing students. Lt. Governor Tate Reeves and M.B. Swayze Foundation Chair Anthony Wilson, Chairman, President, and CEO of Mississippi Power spoke to STAR Students, Teachers, and their families at the event. 285 STAR Students were honored at the Education Celebration, the most ever in the program's 50-year history.





  • DSC 1475
  • DSC 1457
  • DSC 1380
  • DSC 1297
  • DSC 1287
  • DSC 1259
  • DSC 1219
  • DSC 1206
  • DSC 1193
  • DSC 1095
  • DSC 0903
  • DSC 1368


  • 04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0025
  • 04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0520
  • 04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0589
  • 04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0772
  • 04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0408
  • 04.27.MEC.68th.annual.mtg.0252
  • DSC 0931
  • DSC 1050
  • DSC 1095
  • DSC 0985
  • DSC 0947
  • DSC 0977
  • DSC 0903

Click Here for a Full List of Sponsors