bryant max hof 2 

The eighteen Mississippi artists chosen for The Mississippi Arts + Entertainment Experience (The MAX) inaugural Hall of Fame class were announced at a press conference in Jackson on March 23 at the State Capitol. 

The inaugural class members are: 

Walter Anderson James Earl Jones

Sela Ward

William Faulkner B.B.King Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield)
Morgan Freeman George Ohr

Tennessee Williams

John Grisham Elvis Presley Oprah Winfrey
Jim Henson Leontyne Price Eudora Welty
Robert Johnson Jimmie Rodgers Richard Wright

The candidates were chosen from five categories:
-Acting (Movie, Radio, Television, Theatre, etc.)
-Literature (Essayist, Journalist, Novelist, Playwright, Poet, Screenwriter, etc.)
-Music (Performer, Arranger, Producer, Songwriter, etc.)
-Visual Arts (Graphic Artist, Painter, Photographer, Potter, Sculptor, etc.)
-Miscellaneous (Comedian, Chef, Entrepreneur/Executive, Cinematographer, Director, Producer, etc.)