Around Mississippi

Poll: 61 Percent of Voters Support Reasonable Tax and Fee Increase for Transportation Infrastructure Improvements

EXL web banner2

85 Percent of Mississippians Say More Money  Needed for Roads and Bridges

Mississippi voters support spending more to fix the state's roads and bridges - even if it means a reasonable increase in taxes and fees, according to a poll released today.

The poll, conducted by Mason-Dixon Polling & Research, shows 61 percent would support a reasonable plan to increase funding, provided the new taxes or fees were only spent on fixing and improving our highways and bridges. Of those polled 34% strongly support the increase vs. 22% who strongly oppose the increase. According to the poll 59 percent of republicans support a reasonable plan for increasing taxes and fees, while 65 percent of democrats are in favor of such action.

The data also showed 85 percent of Mississippians support spending more on fixing and improving Mississippi's roads and bridges, as outlined in MEC's 'Excelerate Mississippi' transportation plan. The plan calls for $375 million in additional funding each year to address the state's most critical transportation needs.

Click Here to Learn More About Excelerate Mississippi
Click Here to View Full Press Release
Click Here to View Poll

VT Halter Marine Announces Launch of ATB Tug M/V Frederick E. Bouchard

VT Halter Marine, a company of VT Systems, recently announced the launch of the M/V Frederick E. Bouchard at its Moss Point Marine Shipyard Facility in Escatawpa. M/V Frederick E. Bouchard is the second of two 6,000hp Twin Screw Articulated (ATB) tugs constructed for Bouchard Transportation Co. Inc. (Bouchard Transportation) under a two-vessel contract awarded to VT Halter Marine in August 2014.

AT&T Donates 100,000 for Governor Haley Barbour Endowment at Ole Miss

Former Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour (left) visits with Mayo Flynt, president of AT&T Mississippi, and UM Chancellor Dr. Jeffrey Vitter. AT&T…

Nearly 100 Participate in Final MEC Legislative Scrambler on Energy

MEC recently held its final Legislative Scrambler of 2016 on Wednesday, April 6 at the Mississippi Museum of Art.

Entergy's Support to Jobs for America’s Graduates Helps Boost Education, Economic Development

Expanding workforce training and readiness programs in Mississippi, Arkansas and Louisiana is the purpose of a new $250,000 grant to Jobs for…

Over 120 Participate in MEC Legislative Scrambler Focusing on Economic Development

Over 120 participated in the recent MEC Legislative Scrambler focusing on economic development.

Attendees heard from Senate Finance Chair Joey…

Excelerate MS Press Conference Reveals TRIP Data - Mississippi Has 4th Highest Traffic Fatality Rate in the US

Joe F. Sanderson, Jr., Chair of the Blueprint Mississippi Transportation Infrastructure Task Force and CEO of Sanderson Farms, Inc., outlined the…

Gov. Phil Bryant Signs SB 2808, Cuts Red Tape around Workforce Training Funding

Gov. Phil Bryant signed the Mississippi Works Fund bill and cut the red tape around workforce development in our state. Special thanks to Gov.…

Gov. Phil Bryant Joins MDA Director Glenn McCullough on MEC Connect Live Stream

MEC recently hosted Governor Phil Bryant via live stream for MEC Connect: Focusing on Mississippi's Future on Thursday, March 10. Gov. Bryant and…

Plan to Phase Out Corporate Franchise Tax Included in Senate's Tax Reduction Plan

The Mississippi Senate passed a comprehensive tax reduction plan that includes phasing out the corporate franchise tax. The plan, known as the…

More Than 2,300 Leaders from Across Mississippi Attend Pacesetter Tour

More than 2,300 business and community leaders from around the state attended MEC's recently-completed Pacesetter Tour, held in 22 locations…

Nearly 130 Participate in Third MEC Scrambler on Transportation

Rick Webster, President of the MS Road Builders' Association, Sen. Willie Simmons, Rep. Charles Busby and Mike Pepper, Executive Director of the MS…

Pinnacle Supporters

  • PinnacleLogoAtmos
  • PinnacleLogoATTT
  • PinnacleLogoBancorpSouth
  • PinnacleLogoBarksdaleManagement
  • PinnacleLogoBCBSMS
  • Electric Power Associations of MS WHITE
  • PinnacleLogoEntergy
  • PinnacleLogoErgon
  • PinnacleLogoIngalls
  • PinnacleLogoMSPower
  • PinnacleLogoNissan
  • PinnacleLogoSandersonFarms
  • smepa logo WHITE
  • PinnacleLogoTrustmark
  • PinnacleLogoWalmart
  • yate logo WHITE